Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member Institution
James C. Grimm National Housing Training Institute Scholarship
Share |

The SWACUHO Region sponsors individuals to attend the National Housing Training Institute (NHTI). The amount of $1500 will be split among however many NHTI participants who are selected from the SWACUHO region to attend NHTI.

In order to be eligible to receive the SWACUHO NHTI scholarship and be accepted to NHTI, please note the following important information:

  • Applicant applies directly to NHTI (typically January)
  • The SWACUHO President is then notified of NHTI participants from the region
  • Award scholarship from ACUHO-I ($1500) is divided among all the members selected from our region
  • SWACUHO sends a check to NHTI, and they award to SWACUHO recipients at the NHTI closing banquet

The recipient(s) of the SWACUHO scholarship will be asked to both present a program at SWACUHO regarding information they acquired and write a newsletter article for the Fall SWACUHO newsletter about their experience at NHTI.


The National Housing Training Institute (NHTI) is an intense professional development
experience for professionals 3-5 years into the profession and looking to continue their career
in housing. NHTI provides each participant with the opportunity to meet and interact with
other colleagues as well as develop a professional development plan. As the field of college
and university housing evolves, the Institute seeks to provide housing professionals with the necessary skills and competencies to meet the current and future demands of the profession.

Past Winners Include:

2016 EmmaLe Davis, University of Arkansas
14 - 09
2008 Angela Marie Forney, Texas Tech University

Christina Yao, Southern Methodist University

Joe Bruner, Baylor University

Kevin Solomon, Arkansas Tech University


Dave Rozeboom, Baylor University

Robin Williamson, Texas Christian University

2004 Jessica Bowman,Southern Methodist University
Melissa Ann Bryant, Southern Methodist University
Sallie Freeman Miller, Texas State University
2003 Haley Jobe, Texas A&M University - Commerce
Juan Carlos Garcia, ITESM
2002 Byron Lightsy, Texas A&M University
Dawn Norris, Southern Methodist University
2001 Heather Schneller, University of Arkansas
Kelly Carmody, Southern Methodist University
2000 Theresa Yackeyonny, Arkansas Tech University
1999 Daniel Ostick, University of Texas at Austin


624 W. University Drive
Suite 418

Denton, TX 76204


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal