Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member Institution
James L. "Jim" Gibson Exceptional Service Award
Share |

This award was created by the Recognition Committee in 1974 to recognize individuals who have contributed outstanding service and dedication to SWACUHO, past and present. The Selection Committee for this award is composed of the past president and the three state directors. No more than two awards may be presented annually.

The initial recipient of this award was James L. "Jim" Gibson, Director of Housing at the University of Arkansas. His contributions to SWACUHO began in 1969 with an appointment to the Arkansas State Director's position. Upon completion of his term, he served as vice president and then president of the Association. Gibson served as co-chair of the Conference Host Committee in 1969 and as a member of the Evaluation, Development, and Information Committee in 1975-1976. He was also a winner of the Excellence Award for Staff Training and Selection in 1974. He remained active in SWACUHO until his death in February 1981.

Recognizing the importance of his leadership and contributions to SWACUHO, the Recognition and Awards Committee recommended in 1982 that the Exceptional Service Award be named to honor the memory of Jim Gibson. The recommendation was accepted unanimously by the Executive Committee.

To receive this award, a SWACUHO member must serve in a manner that is truly exceptional. Since its creation, only twenty-four members have been honored with this award. In addition to Gibson, the following awards were presented:

Past Winners:

2018  Jill Eckardt Texas Woman's University
2017 Kenneth Mauk University of Houston
2015 Sean Duggan Texas Tech University 
Debbie Gentry
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
2013 Susan Strobel Hogan Southern Methodist University
2009 Dan Mizer Texas A&M University
2007 John White University of Texas at San Antonio
2006 Tom Murray Texas A&M University
2005 J Courson
Susan Austin
Southern Arkansas University
Southern Methodist University
2004 E. Thayne King Texas A&M University - Commerce
2003 Bob Huss Oklahoma State University
2002 Nyla Ptomey Texas Tech University
1999 Chuck Colby University of Tulsa
1998 Bambi Harris Texas Woman's University
1997 Nancy Murphy-Chadwick Texas Woman's University
1995 Kent Sampson Oklahoma State University
1993 Julie Wiksten Southern Methodist University
1989 Frank Cloud
Robert P. Cooke
Sam Houston State University
University of Texas at Austin
1987 Tom Penett University of Houston
1985 Phil Bridger Arkansas State University
1982 Bruce Gurd University of Houston
1976 Nevada Blackburn
Gene Ward
University of Texas at Austin
Southern Methodist University


Blackburn, Ward, Gurd, and Penett were charter members of SWACUHO, but all of these people were instrumental in the development of the Association's direction and goals.

The award nomination period is currently closed. Nominations will open again in November 2018 for awards at the SWACUHO Annual Conference in 2019.

624 W. University Drive
Suite 418

Denton, TX 76204


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal